Skip to product information
1 of 1

DIIV - 'Frog In Boiling Water' Melting Amber Vinyl

DIIV - 'Frog In Boiling Water' Melting Amber Vinyl



Melting Amber Vinyl(Fuzz Exclusive)

Limited to 500 copies.

Brooklyn shoe-gaze rock band DIIV are back and better than ever with their fourth studio album, “Frog in Boiling Water”.  Produced by Chris Coady (Beach House, Slowdive, TV On The Radio, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) , the project was a strenuous four year effort  that challenged the group professionally, personally, and artistically., The result is a sound that stretches beyond their previous works.

The album title is a reference to a “Boiling Frog” in Daniel Quinn’s The Story of B.  The band explains “If you drop a frog in a pot of boiling water, it will of course frantically try to clamber out. But if you place it gently in a pot of tepid water and turn the heat on low, the frog will sink into a tranquil stupor, exactly like one of us in a hot bath, and before long, with a smile on its face, it will unresistingly allow itself to be boiled to death.”

The sound and lyrical themes of the record are well suited for this metaphor. A heavy catharsis drenches listeners as vocalist Zach Smith delivers hauntingly beautiful lyric. Lines such as “I say I'm not afraid, I’ve lived through pain, I’m learning to see through everything” penetrate deep as they float atop a lush wall of fuzzed out reverb and simple but effective groove. Conflicting feelings of sadness, pain, and comfort wash over listeners like a warm bath. Start to finish, this is a truly beautiful record that positions itself to stand the test of time.

1. In Amber
2. Brown Paper Bag
3. Raining On Your Pillow
4. Frog In Boiling Water
5. Everyone Out
6. Reflected
7. Somber The Drums
8. Little Birds
9. Soul-net
10. Fender On The Freeway


This product is a Pre-Order. Orders will ship mid June.

Regular price $32.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $32.00 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details